OPTOELECTRONIC COMPONENT MAKERS ANNOUNCE MULTI-SOURCE AGREEMENT FOR
40GB/S TRANSPONDERS

FOR RELEASE: October 1, 2001

Agere Systems, Agilent Technologies, Alcatel Optronics, Ericsson Microelectronics, ExceLight Communications, JDS Uniphase, Mitsubishi Electric, NEC and OpNext today announced the formation of a Multi-Source Agreement (MSA) for 40 gigabit per second (Gb/s) transponder modules used in fiber optic telecommunications networks. With this agreement, system makers can benefit from a unified form factor and electrical and functional characteristics to be offered by the leading providers of 40Gb/s transponders.

These transponders provide an optical-to-electrical and electrical-to-optical conversion solution for local area, metropolitan and long reach optical networks at four times the information rate of today's 10Gb/s products. Due to the highly integrated nature of transponders, system manufacturers can save several months in design and development of optical networking systems by not having to deal with board-level, discrete circuit designs. The transponders are being designed to support the needs of Synchronous Optical Network/Synchronous Digital Hierarchy (SONET/SDH) and Wavelength Division Multiplexing (WDM) systems, metropolitan rings, optical add/drop multiplexers and IP switches and routers. The MSA members believe that transponders developed under the MSA will enable the highest level of system performance to meet future network bandwidth requirements.

These 40Gb/s MSA transponders feature integrated Clock and Data Recovery (CDR) and a Serializer/Deserializer (SerDes) supporting 16 electrical, parallel, input and output channels at 2.5Gb/s. MSA members will work together to define a common standard for the 40Gb/s transponders. The members believe the fully integrated solution will afford network system suppliers shorter design cycles and allow a significant increase in network capacity.

Under the terms of the agreement, transponders from all of the signatories will conform to and be verified against a specified set of physical, electrical and functional requirements. Further, the agreement allows for a common transponder design platform to address the needs of very short reach, short reach, intermediate reach and long reach networks. Transponder products are expected on the market in the 2003-2005 timeframe.

For further information, customers may contact the following representatives:

Agere Systems: Ron Hartmayer
rhartmayer@agere.com
Agilent Technologies: Dan Rausch
dan_rausch@agilent.com
Alcatel Optronics: Arnaud Fardoit
arnaud.fardoit@alcatel.fr
Ericsson Microelectronics: Mats Doverstål
mats.doverstal@mic.ericsson.se
ExceLight Communications: Gregg Cockroft
gcockroft@excelight.com
JDS Uniphase: Cliff Chapman
cliff.chapman@us.jdsuniphase.com
Mitsubishi Electric: Shinji Shibao
shinji.shibao@kama.melco.co.jp
NEC: Tetsuyuki Suzaki
tet-suzaki@cj.jp.nec.com
OpNext: Atsushi Takai
atsushi.takai@opnext.com

The statements contained in this press release that are not purely historical are forward-looking statements. These statements may be identified by their use of forward-looking terminology such as "believes," "will," "intends," "plans," "anticipates," "strive," "designed" and similar words. Such forward-looking statements include, but are not limited to, any statement or implication that the products described in this press release (i) will be successfully introduced or marketed, (ii) will be qualified and purchased by MSA members' customers, or (iii) will perform to any particular specifications or performance or reliability standards. Such forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties that, if realized, could materially impair the MSA members' respective results of operations, business and financial condition. These risks and uncertainties include, but are not limited to factors discussed from time to time in financial reports filed by one or more of the MSA. The forward-looking statements contained in this news release are made as of the date hereof, and none of the MSA members assumes any obligation to update or qualify any of the statements made herein.


Media Points of Contact:

Agere Systems Glen Haley +01 908 508 8663
glenhaley@agere.com

Agilent Technologies Euan Livingston +01 408 435 4531
euan_livingston@agilent.com

Alcatel Optronics Bénédicte de Bollardière +33 164 49 43 75
benedicte.de_bollardiere@alcatel.fr

Ericsson Microelectronics Yngve Thulin +46 8 75 75367
yngve.thulin@mic.ericsson.se

ExceLight Communications Ed Miskovic +01 919 361 1623
ejm@excelight.com

JDS Uniphase Jeff Wild +01 408 570 2030
jeff.wild@us.jdsuniphase.com

Mitsubishi Electric Matthew Nicholson +81 3 3218 2346
Matthew.Nicholson@hq.melco.co.jp

NEC Akiko Shikimori +81 3 3798 6511
a-shikimori@ay.jp.nec.com

OpNext Caroline Kinlin +01 732 544 3242
ckinlin@opnext.com

tet-suzaki@cj.jp.nec.com"

 

Bluehost coupon code Bluehost hosting coupons